Key facts
| Recalling firm | ImprimisRx NJ LLC |
|---|---|
| Manufacturer | Not disclosed in the FDA record. |
| Brand name | Not disclosed in the FDA record. |
| Product description | Povidone Iodine 1.25% / Proparacaine HCl 0.5% Ophthalmic Solution, 10 mL per dropper bottle, For Office Use Only, Imprimis NJOF, LLC, 1705 Route 46 West, Unit 6B, Ledgewood, NJ 07852, NDC 71384-732-10 |
| Classification | Class III |
| Recall number | D-0835-2026 |
| Report date | Not disclosed in the FDA record. |
| Status | Ongoing |
| Reason for recall | Subpotent Drug |
What this classification means
A Class III recall is FDA’s least serious classification. FDA assigns Class III when use of, or exposure to, the recalled product is not likely to cause any adverse health consequences, but the product still violates FDA labeling or manufacturing regulations. Class III recalls are still tracked and reported to FDA, but typically receive lighter monitoring than Class I or II. FDA's Center for Devices and Radiological Health (for devices) or Center for Drug Evaluation and Research (for drugs) reviews the classification and can require additional corrective action if the initial response is judged insufficient. Because this record is filed as Class III, professionals and consumers handling an affected lot should treat FDA's own classification -- not this page's summary of it -- as the authoritative risk signal. A Class I recall is FDA’s most serious classification. FDA assigns Class I when there is a reasonable probability that use of, or exposure to, the recalled product will cause serious adverse health consequences or death. This classification does not mean harm has already occurred in every case -- it reflects FDA’s assessment of the realistic worst-case risk profile of the defect described in the recall, based on the reason for recall reported by the firm. Class I recalls receive the closest FDA monitoring of the three classes: the recalling firm typically must submit a recall strategy, periodic status reports, and effectiveness checks confirming that the affected lots have actually been removed from distribution or corrected in the field. A Class II recall is FDA’s middle classification. FDA assigns Class II when use of, or exposure to, the recalled product may cause temporary or medically reversible adverse health consequences, or where the probability of serious adverse health consequences is remote. FDA still requires the recalling firm to notify affected accounts and submit status reports on the correction, though the monitoring intensity is lower than for a Class I recall.
What consumers should do
Facilities, clinicians, and consumers holding an affected unit or lot of Povidone Iodine 1.25% / Proparacaine HCl 0.5% Ophthalmic Solution, 10 mL per dropper bottle, For Office Use Only, Imprimis NJOF, LLC, 1705 Route 46 West, Unit 6B, Ledgewood, NJ 07852, NDC 71384-732-10 should stop using it for the purpose described in the recall notice and hold remaining stock pending instructions from ImprimisRx NJ LLC. FDA recall records typically direct the recalling firm to notify known accounts directly with a recall letter describing the specific corrective action -- replacement, field correction, refund, or return. Anyone who received the product through a distributor rather than directly from ImprimisRx NJ LLC should confirm with their supplier whether their specific lot or unit is on the affected list, since recall notices are lot- or unit-specific and not every unit of a product line is necessarily included. Questions about a specific unit's status should go to ImprimisRx NJ LLC directly or to the distributor that supplied it; Argus HQ is a public-record aggregator, not the recalling firm, and cannot confirm individual unit status.
ImprimisRx NJ LLC’s FDA history
Argus HQ has recorded 1 total FDA action tied to ImprimisRx NJ LLC: 0 warning letters, 1 recall, 0 approval records, and 0 Form 483 inspection citations.
Frequently asked questions
- Is Povidone Iodine 1.25% / Proparacaine HCl 0.5% Ophthalmic Sol recalled?
- Yes. FDA lists a Class III recall by ImprimisRx NJ LLC for Povidone Iodine 1.25% / Proparacaine HCl 0.5% Ophthalmic Solution, 10 mL per dropper bottle, For Office Use Only, Imprimis NJOF, LLC, 1705 Route 46 West, Unit 6B, Ledgewood, NJ 07852, NDC 71384-732-10, reported 20260916, with status "Ongoing." FDA recall number: D-0835-2026.
- What is the recall class for ImprimisRx NJ LLC's recall?
- FDA classified this recall as Class III. A Class III recall is FDA’s least serious classification. FDA assigns Class III when use of, or exposure to, the recalled product is not likely to cause any adverse health consequences, but the product still violates FDA labeling or manufacturing regulations.
- Why was Povidone Iodine 1.25% / Proparacaine HCl 0.5% Ophthalmic Sol recalled?
- FDA's recall record states the reason as: Subpotent Drug
- Who should I contact about this recall?
- Contact ImprimisRx NJ LLC directly, or the distributor/pharmacy that supplied the product, to confirm whether your specific lot or unit is affected. Argus HQ aggregates the public FDA recall record and is not the recalling firm.
Know if this happens again — we'll email you.
Free. No spam, just recall alerts for what you tell us to watch.
Related enforcement actions
Full FDA history for ImprimisRx NJ LLCCompiled by Argus HQ Research from FDA primary sources · Reviewed by Andy Gaber, Founder
Cite this record
Reusing this data in reporting or research? Here’s a ready-made citation.
Argus HQ Research (2026). FDA Recall Database: Class III Recall: Povidone Iodine 1.25% / Proparacaine HCl 0.5% Ophthalmic… by ImprimisRx NJ LLC. Digital Empire Holdings LLC. Retrieved from https://argushq.ai/recall/imprimisrx-nj-d-0835-2026-2026-09-16
"FDA Recall Database: Class III Recall: Povidone Iodine 1.25% / Proparacaine HCl 0.5% Ophthalmic… by ImprimisRx NJ LLC." Argus HQ Research, Digital Empire Holdings LLC, 2026, argushq.ai/recall/imprimisrx-nj-d-0835-2026-2026-09-16.
Argus HQ Research. "FDA Recall Database: Class III Recall: Povidone Iodine 1.25% / Proparacaine HCl 0.5% Ophthalmic… by ImprimisRx NJ LLC." Digital Empire Holdings LLC. Accessed October 13, 2026. https://argushq.ai/recall/imprimisrx-nj-d-0835-2026-2026-09-16.
@misc{argushq_argushq_ai_recall_imprimisrx_nj_d_0835_2026_2026_09_16_2026,
title = {FDA Recall Database: Class III Recall: Povidone Iodine 1.25% / Proparacaine HCl 0.5% Ophthalmic… by ImprimisRx NJ LLC},
author = {{Argus HQ Research}},
year = {2026},
publisher = {Digital Empire Holdings LLC},
url = {https://argushq.ai/recall/imprimisrx-nj-d-0835-2026-2026-09-16},
note = {Accessed: October 13, 2026}
}Source: FDA.gov — Recalls ↗

